Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Community Engagement Board

Epilepsy Foundation Florida is guided by a local community engagement board that reports up through the national Board of Directors. The Advisory Board ensures that the needs of people in Florida are being met and helps provide the resources to deliver the mission in Florida.

Valerie Atohi | Neuroscience Account Manager SK life science

Valarie Atohi
Neuroscience Account Manager
SK life science
5 time President’s Club winner
MBA – Florida Atlantic University
B.S. – University of Florida




Board Member Profile Image

Dr. Selim Benbadis | USF,  Neurologist

Dr. Selim Benbadis
Professor of Neurology at the University of South Florida.
Director of the USF /Tampa General Hospital Comprehensive Epilepsy Program
Has authored over 100 article and book chapters.
Serves on several Editorial Boards.




Board Member Profile Image

Dr. Naomi Boyer | Education Design Lab,  Education Strategist

Dr. Naomi Boyer
President, NOME, LLC.
Director, Credentialing Products, Education Design Lab
President, of Public Education Partnership
Chair, Polk County Career Academies Advisory Board




Board Member Profile Image

Judge Kevin Carey | JK Law Firm,  Attorney

Judge Kevin Carey
President, Hillsborough County Bar Association, Young Lawyers Division
Most Productive Young Lawyer Award, Hillsborough County Bar Association
Outstanding Board Member Award, Florida Bar Association, Young Lawyers Division
Board of Directors, Hillsborough County Bar Association




Board Member Profile Image

Angela  Cuba-Diaz  | RSC Diagnostic,  Regional Account Executive

Angela Cuba-Diaz
Executive Sales leader at a fortune 500 company
Top customer service leader and coach award
Sales Excellence achievement award top 1%
Multi-Year President’s Club award winner




Board Member Profile Image

Vanessa  Duncan | Graduate Student


Vanessa Duncan
Florida State University – Public Administration MPA Graduate Study Program
Epilepsy Foundation Florida Events Committee
Toastmasters International Member
Professional Artist -Solo and Group Exhibitions



Board Member Profile Image

Kevin Fitzsimmons | Manfitz Law Firm,  Attorney

Kevin Fitzsimmons
Board Certified Trial Attorney
Top rating of “A-V” from the national Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory
Selected as a 2008 Florida Super Lawyer
Author: Discovery in International Arbitration Vol. 7:5




Board Member Profile Image

Maggie Fitzsimmons | Florida State University,  Student (Pre-Clinical Professions)

Maggie Fitzsimmons
Senior at Florida State University majoring in Interdisciplinary Medical Sciences
First Responder through FSU Medical Response Unit
Research assistant in the Cognitive Affective Neuroscience lab of Dr. Li
Research assistant in the Evolutionary Psychology lab of Dr. Maner




Dr. LaTeya  Foxx | Memorial Neurology,  Medical Director, Neuro-hospitalist

Dr. LaTeya Foxx
Medical Director of Memorial Neurology
American Academy of Neurology
American College of Osteopathic Neurologists and Psychiatrists
Northeast Florida Medical Society




Risa Hayward

Risa Hayward
Case Manager for LLIS
Long-term Client for EFSCF





Board Member Profile Image

Dr. Diane Hernandez | Pharmaceutical Laboratory Dept,  R&D Scientist

Diane Hernandez, M.D.
Core Rx Pharmaceuticals, R&D Scientist, Pharmaceutical Laboratory Department
Biomedical research experience in the areas of Immunology, Neurosciences, Cardiovascular Medicine, Molecular Medicine, Pharmacology, Biochemistry, and Chemistry
Member of Assoc. of Medical Science Graduate Students (AMSGS) at USF
Member of National Society of Collegiate Scholars (NSCS)
Member of Society for Neurosciences (SFN)
Fluent in English, French, Spanish, and Italian


Dr. Stephanie MacIver | USF,  Neurologist

Stephanie Maclver
Assistant Professor at the University of South Florida
Member of the Epilepsy Surgery Team at Tampa General Hospital
Tampa General Hospital out-patient clinic (for under serviced patient populations)




Board Member Profile Image

Dr. Jaivir Rathore /  Neurologist/Epileptologist, Orlando & The Villages, FL

Jaivir S. Rathore, M.D, FAES

Co-Chairman, Epilepsy Foundation Florida
Medical Director, Falcon Advanced Neurology & Epilepsy Freedom Center
Triple Board Certified Diplomate, American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology (ABPN Neurology, Epilepsy & ABCN Clinical Neurophysiology)
Former Vice-Chairman & Chief Fellow, The Johns Hopkins Clinical Fellows Council, Baltimore, MD
Alumnus Fellow, Cleveland Clinic Epilepsy Center, Cleveland, Ohio
Member, American Academy of Neurology & CME Committee, American Epilepsy Society Member-Reviewer’s Panel, Neurology, The Official Journal of the American Academy of Neurology.



Board Member Profile Image

Julianne  Raymond | Gainesville Chamber, Membership/Development

Julianne Raymond
Former Regional Advancement & Education Manager for Epilepsy Florida
Champion of Epilepsy Award Winner 2015
Epilepsy Advocate since diagnosis in 2008





Board Member Profile Image

Shanon Rego | USF,  Student (Cell and Molecular Biology)

Shanon Rego
B.S Candidate Cell and Molecular Biology
USF Honors ‘22
Undergraduate Researcher at Kang Lab – USF Health Neuroscience Institute





Board Member Profile Image

Dr. Joseph  Sirven  | Mayo Clinic,  Professor of Neurology and Chair Emeritus

Dr. Joseph Sirven
Neurologist, Mayo Clinic
Editor in Chief of (The EF National website for 10 years.)
Chair of the Epilepsy Foundation National PAB
Member of the Board of Directors of the American Brain Foundation
Former Chair of Epilepsy Foundation of Arizona BOD





Board Member Profile Image

Francesca Yabraian | Diversity Staffing, Inc,  President

Francesca Yabraian
CEO of Diversity Staffing, Inc. – Advocate for the hiring of veterans and people with disabilities
Emergency Management Specialist – Department Homeland of Security
First Epileptic and Dyslexic Class graduation speaker- University of Tampa, December 2007